Results

Louis Gibson mail: louis.gibson@hockeymail.de | web: louis.hockeymail.de | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 16:10:11 +0000
Facebook’s Really Big Plans For Virtual Reality
Facebook's $2 billion purchase of VR company Oculus left some scratching their heads. Bloomberg sat down with Mark Zuckerberg to figure out why.
Alan Gordon mail: alan.gordon@thedarkswans.com | web: alan.thedarkswans.com | when: Tue, 26 Jul 2016 19:30:37 +0000
Gang Of Kissing Humpback Whales Surface Right Next To Man's Kayak
We've posted enough videos of whales to vouch that they are magnificent and friendly creatures.
Louis Cooper mail: louis.cooper@innovation-km.com | web: louis.innovation-km.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 17:45:04 +0000
Elon Musk's 'Master Plan' Completely Ignores Cities
Elon Musk's self-described "Master Plan" seems to be a master plan that will increase shareholder value, not ease transportation.
Earl Reyes mail: earl.reyes@daftest.website | web: earl.daftest.website | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 11:29:47 +0000
How To Get 1% Interest On Your Banking Account
Earning 1% interest on a checking account is practically unheard of. Through Aspiration’s Summit account, you're able to make 100x more than what you’d normally make with a big bank checking account.
Jacob Watson mail: jacob.watson@ventredi.eu | web: jacob.ventredi.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 16:57:03 +0000
What Is The Roundest Country?
Last week, we found out which country was the most rectangular (congrats, Egypt!). This week — which country is the most, uh, circular?
Bruce Harrison mail: bruce.harrison@affablyhomonym.com | web: bruce.affablyhomonym.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 15:41:36 +0000
Trump: I Hope Russia Can Locate Hillary's Missing Emails
Donald Trump, apparently concerned that the Democratic convention is stealing the spotlight this week, held a press conference Wednesday morning and things got weird.
Kenneth White mail: kenneth.white@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: kenneth.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:08:25 +0000
This Map Of Marijuana Use Is Wholly Unsurprising
There are some interesting insights to be gleaned from this map how many people smoke regularly in different areas, but the fact that northern California and Colorado lead the way is not one of them.
Shawn Martin mail: shawn.martin@innovation-km.com | web: shawn.innovation-km.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:45:21 +0000
The Moment A Suspension Bridge Collapses During A Massive Flood
Massive flooding and landslides struck Nepal this week, killing dozens. The flooding also eroded enough of the riverbank on the Tinau river that a suspension bridge collapsed into the river.
Dennis Warren mail: dennis.warren@hockeymail.de | web: dennis.hockeymail.de | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 16:10:11 +0000
Darude Admits He's Never Actually Been In A Sandstorm
Darude, real name Ville Virtanen, was asked in a Reddit AMA today about his authority on the meteorological phenomena and whether he had experienced one during his 41 years of untz-untz-untz-making on Earth.
Alan Henry mail: alan.henry@thedarkswans.com | web: alan.thedarkswans.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 13:15:45 +0000
John Hinckley, Who Tried To Kill Reagan, Wins His Freedom
Thirty-five years after he tried to kill a president, John Hinckley has won his freedom.
Peter Cooper mail: peter.cooper@hockeymail.de | web: peter.hockeymail.de | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 15:25:14 +0000
The Trailer For M Night Shyamalan's Upcoming Movie 'Split' Is Surpisingly Terrifying
A good trailer by no means equals a good movie, but this really did give us the heebie jeebies.
Philip Owens mail: philip.owens@hockeymail.de | web: philip.hockeymail.de | when: Tue, 26 Jul 2016 23:35:41 +0000
Welcome To Your Coworking Future
In the future according to coworking companies, we won't just be working at our offices — we'll be living there.
Chris Fisher mail: chris.fisher@klarkzon.eu | web: chris.klarkzon.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:08:25 +0000
Charges Against Three Remaining Officers Dropped In Freddie Gray Case
The decision was announced at the start of a pretrial motions hearing for Officer Garrett Miller, who was the next scheduled officer to stand trial.
Paul Evans mail: paul.evans@geheime.club | web: paul.geheime.club | when: Tue, 26 Jul 2016 14:47:41 +0000
Everything You Should Know Before Going On A Road Trip
You know that road trip you’ve been talking about all summer? Now’s the time to go. And we’ve done all the legwork for you to make sure it’s awesome. Shotgun!
Johnny Harrison mail: johnny.harrison@innovation-km.com | web: johnny.innovation-km.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 13:59:49 +0000
Harley The Cockatoo Is A Real Jerk, But We're Okay With It
Harley the cockatoo honestly does not give a crap about your cool cup pyramid. He will take that thing down piece by piece and stomp on your dreams. But we just can't stay mad at him.
Roy Robinson mail: roy.robinson@daftest.website | web: roy.daftest.website | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:59:23 +0000
The Decline Of British English, Visualized
"Centre" vs "center." "Aeroplane" vs "airplane." Charting how American English spellings have become the standard spelling over the last century.
Wayne Crawford mail: wayne.crawford@klarkzon.eu | web: wayne.klarkzon.eu | when: Mon, 25 Jul 2016 18:44:34 +0000
Just The Good (And Bad) Stuff From The Democratic National Convention
After last week's crazy, Trump-tastic Republican Convention, Democrats hoped that this week's Democratic National Convention would be tame in comparison. Luckily for media hungry spectators, it looks like that won't be the case.
Kevin Rodriguez mail: kevin.rodriguez@affablyhomonym.com | web: kevin.affablyhomonym.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 03:48:09 +0000
Giant Hillary Clinton Breaks Through Glass Ceiling Of Former Presidents In Surprise Convention Video
In a surprise video presented to Tuesday's audience at the DNC, a super-sized version of Hillary Clinton broke through a virtual glass ceiling of former presidential men. The graphic was very cheesy, but in a glorious way.
Todd James mail: todd.james@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: todd.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 16:10:11 +0000
These Qaddafi Henchmen, Wanted For Stealing Millions, Are Living In Britain
Three of the former Libyan dictator’s top officials are living comfortably in Britain despite being wanted in Tripoli for allegedly embezzling millions from the collapsed state — and the UK authorities have done nothing to help investigate.
Harold Reyes mail: harold.reyes@geheime.club | web: harold.geheime.club | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:59:23 +0000
The Mathematics Of Jet Lag
In a recent paper, researchers from the University of Maryland discovered an asymmetry in the recovery of circadian rhythms after a travel disruption. Our brains have pacemaker cells that drive our natural rhythms.
Jeffery Garcia mail: jeffery.garcia@affablyhomonym.com | web: jeffery.affablyhomonym.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 12:46:24 +0000
Bill O'Reilly: Slaves That Built White House Were 'Well-Fed' And 'Had Decent Lodging'
Michelle Obama's comment during her DNC speech that she woke up every morning in a building built by slaves has sent certain sections of the commentariat into a tizzy. Still, we didn't quite expect Bill O'Reilly to go full-on "benevolent slavery."
Benjamin Hughes mail: benjamin.hughes@innovation-km.com | web: benjamin.innovation-km.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 12:39:52 +0000
Here's A New Reason Bees Are Dying At An Alarming Rate
A new study from the Institute of Bee Health, published by Proceedings of the Royal Society B, finds that a common insecticide —presumably created by humans — suppresses the male honey bee’s ability to produce sperm.
Brian Mason mail: brian.mason@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: brian.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 11:29:47 +0000
Headphones Of The Future
These bone conduction Bluetooth headphones use vibration technology to transmit audio without blocking your ears.
Billy Rodriguez mail: billy.rodriguez@daftest.website | web: billy.daftest.website | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 11:03:02 +0000
The Oppressive Gospel Of 'Minimalism'
Despite its connotations of absence, “minimalism” has been popping up everywhere lately, like a bright algae bloom in the murk of postrecession America.
Nynke Van der louw mail: nvdlouw@yahoo.com | web: http://greatestcamps.nl/ | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 12:39:52 +0000
Ralph Lauren’s American Dream
The iconic brand is struggling. How did we get here, and what happens next?
Donald Peterson mail: donald.peterson@ventredi.eu | web: donald.ventredi.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 14:59:23 +0000
The Second-Strangest Campaign Of The Season
How an eccentric liberal member of the House plans to take down Marco Rubio.
Brian Henry mail: brian.henry@hockeymail.de | web: brian.hockeymail.de | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 11:29:47 +0000
Julian Assange Likely Has No Idea Who Hacked The DNC
When Assange says, “We keep secret the identity of our sources,” he often means precisely that: No one, not even him, knows who they are.
Carl Shaw mail: carl.shaw@ventredi.eu | web: carl.ventredi.eu | when: Mon, 25 Jul 2016 19:15:13 +0000
Watching A Makeup Artist Transform Her Face Into Pikachu Is Very Unsettling
We're impressed, but in a "Oh God, why?" kind of way.
Louis Turner mail: louis.turner@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: louis.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 11:29:47 +0000
Meet The Mothers Who Have Been Fighting Police Brutality For Decades
Before the mothers of Trayvon Martin, Michael Brown, and Eric Garner took to the streets in protest, there was Iris Baez, a homemaker who became an activist after an NYPD officer killed her son Anthony in 1994.
Brandon Robinson mail: brandon.robinson@horse-d.eu | web: brandon.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 10:03:02 +0000
The Case For More Female Cops
Nearly nine out of ten cops are men. Sarah Smarsh discusses the police force’s gender problem and a Wichita woman’s efforts inside the criminal justice system that failed her.
Shawn Hughes mail: yahoo@geheime.club | web: shawn.geheime.club | when: Tue, 26 Jul 2016 21:35:41 +0000
Watch Rock, Fire And Freaking *Lightning* Erupt Out Of A Volcano
This mesmerizing phenomenon — seen here at Japan's Sakurajima volcano — is called a "dirty thunderstorm.” It occurs when rock fragments and particles collide, producing static electricity.
Nicholas Martin mail: nicholas.martin@pulpfrictions.com | web: nicholas.pulpfrictions.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 11:29:47 +0000
What’s On Michelle Obama’s Mind? Meet The Speechwriter Who Puts It Into Words
Sarah Hurwitz, the first lady’s head speechwriter, has written for the Obamas for eight years and for Michelle Obama exclusively for nearly seven. The two have worked so closely together that nearly every word the first lady has spoken in public has been written or edited by Hurwitz.
Kevin Cox mail: gmail@innovation-km.com | web: kevin.innovation-km.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 13:21:49 +0000
Trevor Noah Calls Out The Bernie Or Busters For Turning On Their Leader At The DNC
"The Daily Show" is live from Philadelphia this week and the whole gang has been running around interviewing folks and stealing their cell phones. Noah recaps Day One of the convention and slings some criticism at Bernie's followers.
Lee Perez mail: lee.perez@hockeymail.de | web: lee.hockeymail.de | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 00:15:19 +0000
The Campaign To Make You Eat Kimchi
Why is Korean food taking off in the U.S. now, decades after the largest waves of Korean immigration? In addition to being delicious, there are deeper factors at play — namely, a large investment from the Korean government to promote and propagate Korean restaurants abroad.
Dennis Harrison mail: dennis.harrison@horse-d.eu | web: dennis.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 09:03:02 +0000
Could Robot Wars Become The Acceptable Face Of Bloodsports?
We might consider ourselves a bit more civilised than the toga-wearing sociopaths of antiquity, but we still want to watch terrible savagery in a purpose-built arena, and we still want to cheer at the sight of indiscriminate carnage.
Joshua Hughes mail: joshua.hughes@horse-d.eu | web: joshua.horse-d.eu | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 03:19:18 +0000
Watch Bill Clinton's Winding Speech About His History With Hillary Clinton
Bill Clinton was the DNC's marquee speaker Tuesday night. He devoted almost the entirety of his speech to recount his long history with Hillary. At times it was sweet, but certain portions of their history were notably absent.
Daniel Mitchell mail: daniel.mitchell@thedarkswans.com | web: daniel.thedarkswans.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 08:00:04 +0000
Why Should Only The Wealthy Get Solar Panels?
Washington, DC, has embarked on an aggressive clean-energy plan, but a big challenge will be making sure it doesn't worsen existing inequalities.
Steve Cole mail: steve.cole@thedarkswans.com | web: steve.thedarkswans.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 06:57:03 +0000
Is The Billboard Hot 100 Broken?
How the “stream, steal, or buy” economy confounds the singles chart.
Todd Washington mail: todd.washington@affablyhomonym.com | web: todd.affablyhomonym.com | when: Tue, 26 Jul 2016 15:37:10 +0000
Artist Creates An Intricate Sand Mandala Using A Deceptively Simple Stencil
A flick of the wrist here, a tap of a bottle there and, before you know it, you've got a pretty little ephemeral creation.
Johnny Roberts mail: johnny.roberts@thedarkswans.com | web: johnny.thedarkswans.com | when: Wed, 27 Jul 2016 00:15:19 +0000
The Magic/Deep Learning Behind Facial Recognition
Facebook’s auto-tagging algorithms are able to recognize your friends’ faces after they have been tagged only a few times. It’s pretty amazing technology  —  Facebook can recognize faces with 98% accuracy which is pretty much as good as humans can do! But how?
more